Reunited in perfect rivalry

The Ford ‘Turbo-Capri’ sporting Group 5 trim is a legend. This powerhouse used to mark milestones in the former DRM: in 1981, Klaus Ludwig crowned several years of development work by the Zakspeed team with the ‘German Rennsport’ championship title. Consequently, the brief Group 5 heyday remained unforgotten with fans – and the Capri in their hearts. After the Berlin-based Mücke squad has been fielding the legendary Ludwig Capri for a number of years, touring car enthusiasts are now being treated to a double dose of joy as the second ready-to-race Capri is returning to the track at the AvD Oldtimer Grand Prix. Harald Ertl’s former racing car is fielded in the Touring Car Classics by Rüddel Racing, a team that has long-standing experience with historic Ford models.

600 horsepower and a dry weight of 800 kg. The ‘Turbo-Capri’ is a powerhouse with amazing performance, in which the racing know-how of the late 70s is paired with rigorous aerodynamics and lightweight design. For Mike Stursberg, who is sharing driving duties in the ‘freshly restored’ Ertl-Capri with Heinz Schmersal, it was practically love at first sight: “After the first test at Zolder, I called Klaus Ludwig and told him ‘you were totally crazy back then,’” Stursberg says with a grin. “That must have been a brutal era. Driving this car is truly an honour.” Even though a few details still had to be sorted after this initial test, he already had a pretty good picture of how driving it felt. “The way driving this car feels compares well with driving a modern racing car, but you have to work a lot harder at it than today,” he says. “The steering wheel, the brake pedal pressure, the heat – everything is a lot harder to handle than today. I was really bushed when I got out of the car after the test at Zolder.” Another Capri driver – Peter Mücke – can confirm the car’s superior performance as well. The seasoned team boss with many DTM, GT and single-seater races under his belt says: “Considering the fact that we’re driving a car from 1980 and that a large number of engineers have been working on the evolution of motor racing since then, that’s truly amazing. Even though we’re competing with DTM cars from 2006 here, we’re in contention – if anyone, during my days as a DTM team boss, had told me that a DRM Capri is competitive against these cars I’d have suggested they take a drug test.”

Rüddel-Capri: finally back on the race track

The fact that now Mücke is no longer the only owner of a ready-to-race Turbo-Capri can, not least, be credited to team boss Robert Rüddel. Following many historic racing commitments, he had the opportunity to add the Capri to his line-up. “We knew that the vehicle was in a museum in Speyer and were engaged in negotiations with the owners for a year and a half before being able to acquire the Capri in 2018,” he relates. “Afterwards we had a lot of work on our hands because the car had been converted for hill-climb competitions at the time. We reconverted it to the original Group 5 specification.” The fact that the team had experience with Ford DBA engines, which provide the base for the Capri’s power-plant as well, helped him in this effort. Rüddel’s father had already contested races in the Escort in the 70s and the team has been relying on this tradition-steeped model up to now as well. “But even though we know quite a bit about BDA engines, we had to break a lot of new ground,” the team principal says in retrospect. That Zakspeed still had know-how and parts was of help too. As a result, a new chassis and body parts came from the team’s base in Niederzissen.

After the inital test, the AvD Oldtimer Grand Prix marks the first fielding in a race. Consequently, Mike Stursberg plays down expectations: “Our main goal is to finish. In comparison with the Mücke-Capri, it can be assumed that we’re not yet in contention because we’re still lacking experience and are probably a bit short on performance too.“ Even so, his fellow Ford Capri entrants welcome the addition: “Of course, the second Capri on the track enhances the field,” says Peter Mücke. “After all, driving wouldn’t be fun without competition.” However, the seasoned driver and team boss from Berlin cannot betray the fact that he’s a real racer when he says with a grin: “Of course, competition means anyone driving around you on the track.”

© AvD / Gruppe C

© AvD / Gruppe C

Collection 2019

Get the collection for the 47th AvD Oldtimer Grand Prix 2019 now!

To the shop

In bester Rivalität wiedervereint

Der Ford „Turbo-Capri“ im Gruppe-5-Trim ist eine Legende: Das Kraftpaket setzte in der ehemaligen DRM Meilensteine: 1981 krönte Klaus Ludwig die mehrjährige Entwicklungsarbeit des Zakspeed-Teams mit dem Titel des Deutschen Rennsportmeisters. Die kurze Gruppe-5-Blütezeit blieb deshalb bei den Fans unvergessen – und der Capri in den Herzen. Nachdem der Berliner Mücke-Rennstall schon einige Jahre den legendären Ludwig-Capri einsetzt, dürfen sich die Tourenwagen-Enthusiasten nun doppelt freuen: Beim AvD-Oldtimer-Grand-Prix kehrt der zweite rennfertige Capri auf die Strecke zurück. Eingesetzt wird das ehemalige Einsatzfahrzeug von Harald Ertl im Feld der Tourenwagen Classics von Rüddel Racing – einem Team mit langjähriger Erfahrung mit historischen Ford-Modellen.

600 PS Leistung bei 800 kg Leergewicht: Der „Turbo-Capri“ ist ein Kraftpaket mit erstaunlicher Performance. In ihm wird das Rennsport-Know-how der späten 70er mit konsequenter Aerodynamik und Leichtbau gepaart. Für Mike Stursberg, der sich als Fahrer den „frisch renovierten“ Ertl-Capri mit Heinz Schmersal teilt, war es gewissermaßen Liebe auf den ersten Blick: „Nach dem ersten Test in Zolder habe ich Klaus Ludwig angerufen und ihm gesagt: »Ihr wart ja damals total verrückt«“, grinst der Wermelskirchener. „Das muss schon eine brutale Zeit gewesen sein. Es ist eine richtige Ehre, dieses Auto zu fahren.“ Auch wenn nach diesem ersten Test noch Einzelheiten auszusortieren waren, hatte er schon ein rundes Bild vom Fahrgefühl: „Das Fahrgefühl ist zwar mit der eines modernen Rennwagens vergleichbar, aber dazu muss man sehr viel mehr arbeiten als heutzutage", sagt er. „Lenkrad, Bremspedaldruck, Hitze – alles ist viel härter als heute. Als ich in Zolder nach dem Test aus dem Auto gestiegen bin, war ich richtig k. o.“ Die überragende Performance kann auch ein anderer Capri-Pilot bestätigen: Peter Mücke. Der erfahrene Teamchef mit vielen Einsätzen in DTM-, GT- und Formelrennen schildert: „Wenn man sich überlegt, dass wir ein Auto von 1980 fahren und dass viele Ingenieure seitdem an der Motorsport-Entwicklung gearbeitet haben, kommt man ins Staunen. Wir fahren hier gegen DTM-Autos von 2006 und sind nicht chancenlos – also wenn mir in meiner Zeit als DTM-Teamchef jemand gesagt hätte, dass ein DRM-Capri gegenüber diesen Fahrzeugen konkurrenzfähig ist, hätte ich ihm einen Drogentest empfohlen.“

Rüddel-Capri: endlich zurück auf der Strecke

Dass Mücke nun nicht mehr den einzigen rennfertigen Turbo-Capri sein eigen nennt, ist nicht zuletzt ein Verdienst von Teamchef Robert Rüddel. Nach vielen historischen Einsätzen hatte er die Chance, seinen Stall mit dem Capri zu erweitern. „Wir wussten dass das Fahrzeug in Speyer im Museum stand und waren eineinhalb Jahre in Verhandlungen mit den Eigentümern, bevor wir den Capri 2018 erwerben konnten“, schildert er. „Danach gab es viel Arbeit für uns, denn das Auto war damals für den Bergrennsport umgerüstet worden. Wir haben das auf die originale Gruppe-5-Spezifikation zurückgebaut." Dabei half ihm, dass das Team mit Ford-BDA-Motoren, die auch beim Capri die Basis des Antriebsaggregats stellen, Erfahrung hat. Schon Rüddels Vater fuhr in den 70ern auf dem Escort Rennen, und das Team setzte auch bislang auf das traditionsreiche Modell. „Aber auch wenn wir uns mit den BDA-Motoren auskennen, haben wir viel Neuland betreten müssen“, blickt der Teamchef zurück. Als hilfreich erwies sich, dass es bei Zakspeed nach wie vor Know-how und Teile gab. So kamen etwa ein neues Fahrgestell und Bodyparts aus Niederzissen.

Nach dem ersten Test ist der AvD-Oldtimer-Grand-Prix der erste Renneinsatz. „Wir sind noch in der Testphase“, beschwichtigt Mike Stursberg deshalb. „Unser erstes Ziel ist es anzukommen. Beim Vergleich mit dem Mücke-Capri können wir vermutlich noch nicht mithalten. Dazu fehlen noch Erfahrung und vermutlich auch etwas Leistung.“ Dennoch freuen sich auch die Markenkollegen über den Zuwachs: „Natürlich ist der zweite Capri auf der Strecke bereichernd“, sagt Peter Mücke. „Ohne Konkurrenz würde das Fahren schließlich keinen Spaß machen.“ Allerdings kommt beim erfahrenen Rennfahrer und Teamchef aus Berlin auch der echte Racer durch, wenn er verschmitzt sagt: „Konkurrenz ist natürlich jeder, der auf der Strecke um einen herumfährt.“

© AvD / Gruppe C

© AvD / Gruppe C

Kollektion 2019

Sichern Sie sich jetzt die Kollektion zum 47. AvD Oldtimer Grand Prix 2019!

Zum Shop