Strong field in race of historic touring cars and GTs

A touring car race in a class of its own kicked off this Saturday of AvD Oldtimer Grand Prix racing. The grid of the AvD Touring Car and GT Trophy was made up of 45 cars with international drivers who made for gripping one-hour on-track action. Even though 41 cars crossing the finishing line meant an extremely low DNF rate, misfortune, of all driver squads, struck one of the fancied ones: Heinz Schmersal (Wuppertal) / Mike Stursberg (Wermelskirchen) retired after their 1971 Ford Escort RS 1600 suffered engine failure and, to top it off, unintentionally caused a 20-minute interruption that temporarily upset the tight schedule on Saturday. Instead, in the year of the 50th anniversary of the Ford RS models, another Escort held up the flag of the cars made by the Cologne-based manufacturer: Sebastian Glaser (Munich) won the race in a Ford Escort RS 1600 BDA (also from 1971) trailed by two Alfa Romeo cars: Alexander Furiani (Cologne) drove his 1965 Giulia Sprint GTA home in second place ahead of Markus Niestrath (Wegberg) in an Alfa Romeo 1750 GT Am. As a result, both took the top spots in the special Alfa Romeo classification as well. In the Generations Cup held as part of this race since last year, a ‘familiar face’ at the AvD Oldtimer Grand Prix was victorious: long-standing participant Christian Graf von Wedel (Frankfurt), who competed this year with his son, Lando, in a Lotus Elan S2 of Team Gotcha Racing, saw the chequered flag in position seven. The result marked a superb performance particularly by the son who managed to crown with a nice success what was only the second race weekend in his young career.

Merzario: “I love the Nürburgring”

In spite of the interference due to the interruption, winner Sebastian Glaser said after the one-hour race: “It was fun – a great race. Needless to say, I’m sorry that the Rüddel Escort retired because I was prepared for a fierce battle with it. That’s why I pushed hard at the beginning of the race and achieved an advantage. I knew that once Mike Stursberg took the wheel of the Rüddel car it might turn into a close battle. But then they unfortunately retired and I was able to defend my lead all the way to the finish.” The other classes saw spirited battles for victory as well. Glaser, on taking overall victory, decided the fight in the particularly strong T/CT 19 field (1.6 – 2.5 litres of displacement, generations 1970 / 71) in his favour as well.

The equally strong T/(CT) 8 field (1.3 to 1.6 litres of displacement, 1962 – 1965) in which events were determined by the battle between the Ford Lotus Cortina against the Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint cars attracted a lot of attention. Trailing the victorious Britons Geoffy und Alan Lets (Ford Lotus Cortina), ex-Formula One driver Arturo Merzario and his teammate Roberto Restlli (both Italy) crossed the finishing line in an Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint. Subsequently, the Italian beamed: “I travelled to the Nürburgring for the first time in 1963 to race a small Abarth. Since then, I suppose I haven’t skipped a single important race. I love this track – the Grand Prix circuit just like the legendary Nordschleife. That’s why I like to return again and again.” A remarkable 27th place was clinched by seven-time German Rally Champion Matthias Kahle (Cologne) in a small Skoda 130 RS who, as a result, won the small T/CT 27 class (1.15 – 1.3 litres of displacement, 1976) as well. “This race was not a really easy one for us. We lack a little speed on the straights. In cornering, we make up a few places but lose them again on accelerating out of the turns. In situations like these you mainly try not to get in anyone’s way.”

The Generations Cup, held for the second time, to which parent-child racer combinations were invited, proved a popular event. Ten family teams were pitted against each other and victory went to the Gotcha Racing team in which Christian Graf von Wedel competed together with his son, Lando. Up-and-coming driver Lando subsequently said: “This is only my second race weekend. In our first event at Spa we managed to clinch two class victories and this one went well too. My father drove the first stint and after the interruption we took turns at the wheel. My race went well. I was not able to keep Glaser’s Escort at bay, but other than that I managed to superbly defend myself. There was also a nice fight with a BMW 2002 – then the chequered flag fell. I’m highly pleased.”

© Gruppe C / AvD

© Gruppe C / AvD

© Gruppe C / AvD

OGP-Special

Order the current 2018 collection for the 46th AvD Oldtimer Grand Prix now and get a FREE AvD collector's card for every article you order.

To The Shop

*Valid until 31.08.2018. Only while stocks last. Cannot be combined with other discounts.

Starke Besetzung beim Rennen der historischen Tourenwagen und GTs

Mit einem Tourenwagenrennen der Extraklasse begann in diesem Jahr der Rennsamstag beim AvD-Oldtimer-Grand-Prix. In der AvD-Tourenwagen- und GT-Trophäe gingen 45 Rennwagen mit internationaler Besetzung an den Start, die für ein packendes einstündiges Geschehen auf der Strecke sorgten. Und auch wenn es mit 41 Fahrzeugen im Ziel eine äußerst geringe Ausfallquote gab, so erwischte es doch ausgerechnet einen der Favoriten eiskalt: Heinz Schmersal (Wuppertal) / Mike Stursberg (Wermelskirchen) schieden nach einem Motorschaden an ihrem Ford Escort RS 1600 von 1971 vorzeitig aus und sorgten obendrein ungewollt für eine zwanzigminütige Unterbrechung, die den eng gestrickten Zeitplan am Samstag zeitweise in Unordnung brachten. Im Jahr des 50. Jubiläums der Ford-RS-Modelle hielt dafür ein anderer Escort die Flagge der Kölner Fabrikate hoch: Sebastian Glaser (München) gewann das Rennen in einem Ford Escort RS 1600 BDA (ebenfalls aus 1971) vor zwei Alfa Romeo: Alexander Furiani (Köln) brachte seine Giulia Sprint GTA von 1965 auf Platz zwei ins Ziel vor Markus Niestrath (Wegberg) auf Alfa Romeo 1750 GT Am. Beide rangierten damit auch in der Alfa-Romeo-Sonderwertung ganz vorne. In dem seit vergangenen Jahr ebenfalls innerhalb dieses Rennens ausgetragenen Generationencup siegte ein „alter Bekannter“ beim AvD-Oldtimer-Grand-Prix: Christian Graf von Wedel (Frankfurt) wurde als langjähriger Teilnehmer auf Gesamtposition sieben abgewinkt, der diesmal mit seinem Sohn Lando im Lotus Elan S2 des Gotcha Racing Teams antrat. Eine tolle Leistung insbesondere für den Filius, der damit das erst zweite Rennwochenende seiner jungen Karriere mit einem schönen Erfolg krönen konnte.

Merzario: „Ich liebe den Nürburgring“

Auch wenn das Renngeschehen von der Unterbrechung gestört wurde, bilanzierte Sieger Sebastian Glaser nach dem einstündigen Lauf: „Es hat Spaß gemacht – ein schönes Rennen. Dass der Rüddel-Escort ausgefallen ist finde ich natürlich schade, denn mit ihm hatte ich mich auf einen harten Kampf eingestellt. Deshalb habe ich auch zu Beginn des Rennens kräftig Gas gegeben und einen Vorsprung herausgefahren. Ich wusste: Wenn Mike Stursberg bei Rüddel das Steuer übernimmt, kann es eng werden. So aber sind sie leider ausgefallen und ich konnte die Führung bis ins Ziel verteidigen.“ Auch in den weiteren Klassen wurde beherzt um den Sieg gerungen. Glaser entschied mit dem Gesamtsieg auch den Fight in der besonders stark besetzten T/CT 19 (1,6 – 2,5 Liter Hubraum, Baujahre 1970 / 71) für sich.

Viel Aufmerksamkeit zog die – ebenfalls stark besetzte – T/(CT) 8 auf sich (1,3 bis 1,6 Liter Hubraum, 1962 – 1965), in der das Geschehen vom Kampf der Ford Lotus Cortina gegen die Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint bestimmt war. Hinter den siegreichen Briten Geoffy und Alan Lets (Ford Lotus Cortina) erreichte Ex-Formel-1-Pilot Arturo Merzario mit Teamkollege Roberto Restlli (beide Italien) in einer Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint das Ziel. Der Italiener strahlte anschließend: „Ich kam 1963 mit einem kleinen Abarth zum ersten Mal hier zum Nürburgring. Seitdem habe ich hier vermutlich kein wichtiges Rennen ausgelassen. Ich liebe diese Strecke – den Grand-Prix-Kurs ebenso wie die legendäre Nordschleife. Deshalb komme immer wieder gerne hierher.“ Einen beachtlichen 27. Rang holte der siebenfache deutsche Rallye-Meister Matthias Kahle (Köln) im kleinen Skoda 130 RS, der damit auch die kleine T/CT 27-Klasse gewann (1,15 – 1,3 Liter Hubraum, 1976). „Das war kein ganz einfaches Rennen für uns. Es fehlt ein wenig die Speed auf der Geraden. In der Kurve machen wir dann Plätze gut, werden aber beim Herausbeschleunigen wieder kassiert. Da versucht man vor allem, niemanden im Weg zu stehen.“

Beliebt war der zum zweiten Mal ausgeschriebene Generationen-Cup, zu dem Rennfahrer-Gespanne in Eltern-Kind-Konstellation eingeladen waren. Zehn Familienteams traten an, und der Sieg ging an das Gotcha Racing Team, wo Christain Graf von Wedel gemeinsam mit Sohn Lando antrat. Nachwuchsrennfahrer Lando berichtete anschließend: „Dies ist erst mein zweites Rennwochenende. Beim ersten Einsatz in Spa haben wir zwei Klassensiege holen können und hier lief es auch gut. Mein Vater hat den Start übernommen, nach der Unterbrechung haben wir uns abgewechselt. Mein Rennen lief gut. Der Escort von Glaser war für mich nicht zu halten, ansonsten konnte ich mich super behaupten. Einen schönen Fight mit einem BMW 2002 gab es auch noch – danach kam die Zielflagge. Ich bin hoch zufrieden.“

© Gruppe C / AvD

© Gruppe C / AvD

© Gruppe C / AvD

Kollektion 2018

Sichern Sie sich jetzt die Kollektion zum 46. AvD Oldtimer Grand Prix 2018!

Zum Shop