Jaguar: A glimpse of the future

AvD Oldtimer Grand Prix visitors strolling from the Historic Paddock to the Grand Prix Paddock at the Nürburgring are initially welcomed by Jaguar. The British premium brand forges links between the past and future with its appearance this year, for one celebrating the 50th anniversary of the Jaguar XJ launched in 1968 and for the other featuring a central display of the I-Pace, the car to be fielded in the world’s first all-electric one-make cup to be held as part of the FIA Formula E supporting programme starting next year.

The Britons’ appearance at the AvD Oldtimer Grand Prix attracts a large number of visitors and is a crowd-puller particularly during the interview and autograph sessions when ex-Formula One driver Christian Danner answers questions with equal personal and professional aplomb. TV channel RTL’s Formula One expert is also at home in current motorsport like few others and serves as chief instructor of Jaguar’s in-house Driving Academy. “The programme affords participants an opportunity to develop their skills on all possible performance levels,” Danner reveals. “From entry-level courses through to ice training or the Nordschleife course, there’s something for everyone. We even offer a children’s programme for 11- to 17-year-olds.” In view of his motorsport background, Danner is obviously in a position to share some information about the sporty UK brand’s ‘youngest child’ during the interviews at Jaguar as well. “Here at the ‘Ring’ we are showcasing the Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy which we will field in a one-make cup as part of the Formula E supporting programme starting next season. A touring car series using electric powertrains has never existed before.” Jaguar – represented as a manufacturer in Formula E since 2016 – thus again does pioneering work that may prove to be trend-setting for motorsport as a whole. “Electric mobility is at least an important element of future motor racing,” says Christian Danner. “Although I personally doubt that we will exclusively be driving electric vehicles one day, a significant proportion of cars will no doubt be using electric drive systems.”

Proud brand history

Obviously, the brand’s history plays a major role at the Nürburgring this weekend as well. A milestone in Jaguar’s history – the XJ6 launched in 1968 – is celebrating its 50th anniversary. The model range was continued up until 1992 and for a long time the XJ12 – ultimately delivering 295 horsepower and speed of 245 km/h – was regarded as the ‘world’s fastest saloon’. But that is not the only reason for the Britons to have a party. “We are delighted that we are able to celebrate two exceptional anniversaries at this year’s AvD Oldtimer Grand Prix: the Jaguar XJ has turned 50 and the Land Rover brand 70. The visitors get to see historic highlight models such as the XJ6 of Jaguar’s founder Sir William Lyons, the Queen Mother’s XJ12 and the pioneering ‘Range Stormer’ Land Rover concept,” says Christian Löer, Director Marketing at Jaguar Land Rover Germany. “However, at the Jaguar Village, we are also showcasing current models such as the I-PACE, Jaguar’s first electric car, and the Range Rover Sport PHEV which as a plug-in hybrid combines a petrol engine and an electric motor. As a result, our numerous visitors get to experience the impressive history as well as the future of Jaguar and Land Rover.”

© Gruppe C / AvD

© Gruppe C / AvD

© Gruppe C / AvD

© Gruppe C / AvD

OGP-Special

Order the current 2018 collection for the 46th AvD Oldtimer Grand Prix now and get a FREE AvD collector's card for every article you order.

To The Shop

*Valid until 31.08.2018. Only while stocks last. Cannot be combined with other discounts.

Jaguar: Ein Blick in die Zukunft

Wer am Nürburgring vom historischen Fahrerlager hinüber zum Grand-Prix-Paddock schlendert, wird beim AvD-Oldtimer-Grand-Prix von Jaguar empfangen. Die edle britische Marke schlägt mit ihrem Auftritt in diesem Jahr eine Brücke von der Vergangenheit in die Zukunft. Denn einerseits wird der 50. Geburtstag des 1968 vorgestellten Jaguar XJ gefeiert, andererseits präsentiert sich in einem zentralen Display in der Mitte des Geländes der I-Pace, mit dem ab dem kommenden Jahr im Rahmenprogramm der FIA Formel E der erste rein elektrische Markenpokal der Welt ausgetragen wird.

Der ohnehin gut besuchte Auftritt der Briten ist beim AvD-Oldtimer-Grand-Prix insbesondere bei den Interview- und Autorgrammstunden ein Zuschauermagnet. Dann steht nämlich Ex-Formel-1-Pilot Christian Danner ebenso kompetent wie sympathisch Rede und Antwort. Der Formel-1-Experte von TV-Sender RTL ist auch im aktuellen Motorsport wie kaum ein anderer zu Hause. Für Jaguar fungiert er als Chefinstruktor der hauseigenen Driving Academy. „In diesem Rahmen kann man sich mit tollen Autos auf allen möglichen Leistungsstufen weiter-entwickeln“, verrät Danner. „Vom Einsteigerkurs bis zum Eistraining oder dem Nordschleifenlehrgang ist für jeden etwas dabei. Wir bieten sogar ein Kinderprogramm für 11- bis 17jährige.“ Und bei seinem motorsportlichen Background liegt es nahe, dass er im Rahmen der Interviews bei Jaguar auch zum jüngsten Kind der sportlichen Briten einiges zu berichten hat. „Hier am Ring zeigen wir den Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy, mit dem wir in der kommenden Saison im Rahmenprogramm der Formel E einen Markenpokal austragen. Eine Tourenwagenserie mit Elektroantrieb hat es noch nie gegeben.“ Jaguar – als Hersteller bereits seit 2016 in der Formel E vertreten – leistet damit erneut Pionierarbeit, die sich vielleicht für den gesamten Motorsport als richtungweisend erweisen könnte. „Elektromobilität ist zumindest ein wichtiger Teil des künftigen Motorsports“, sagt Christian Danner. „Ob wir alle eines Tages ausschließlich elektrische Fahrzeuge bewegen, das wage ich persönlich zwar zu bezweifeln. Aber ein signifikanter Anteil der Autos wird sicherlich elektrisch betrieben werden.“

Große Markenhistorie

Eine wichtige Rolle spielt an diesem Wochenende am Nürburgring natürlich auch die Markenhistorie. Mit dem 1968 vorgestellten XJ6 hat ein Meilenstein in der Jaguar-Geschichte Jubiläum. Bis 1992 wurde die Baureihe fortgeführt, und lange Zeit galt der am Ende 295 PS starke und 245 km/h schnelle XJ12 als „schnellste Limousine der Welt“. Doch das ist nicht der einzige Grund für eine Party bei den Briten. „Wir freuen uns sehr, beim diesjährigen AvD-Oldtimer-Grand-Prix auch zwei außergewöhnliche Geburtstage feiern zu können: Der Jaguar XJ ist 50 und die Marke Land Rover ist 70 Jahre alt geworden. Die Besucher lernen historische Highlight-Modelle wie den XJ6 von Jaguar-Gründer Sir William Lyons, den XJ12 von Queen Mum und die wegweisende Land-Rover-Studie ’Range Stormer’ kennen“, sagt Christian Löer, Direktor Marketing bei Jaguar Land Rover Deutschland. „Wir stellen aber im Jaguar-Village auch aktuelle Modelle wie den I-PACE, das erste elektrische Modell von Jaguar, und den Range Rover Sport PHEV vor, der als Plug-in-Hybrid einen Benzin- und Elektromotor verbindet. So erleben die zahlreichen Besucher die beeindruckende Geschichte von Jaguar und Land Rover, aber auch ihre Zukunft.“

© Gruppe C / AvD

© Gruppe C / AvD

© Gruppe C / AvD

© Gruppe C / AvD

Kollektion 2018

Sichern Sie sich jetzt die Kollektion zum 46. AvD Oldtimer Grand Prix 2018!

Zum Shop