Formula 1 star Ralf Schumacher presented winners’ trophies

The drivers in the races of the FIA Masters Historic Formula One Championship this weekend competed for the Ravenol cup. The lubricant manufacturer was not only responsible for the winners’ trophies themselves but also for having them presented by a celebrity: ex-Formula 1 star Ralf Schumacher in his role as Ravenol brand ambassador did the honours after round two on Sunday. In an interview he looks back on his own career which also continues a chapter in motorsport history: the German karting pioneer Wolfgang Graf Berghe von Trips was the initiator of the karting track in Kerpen on which Schumacher and many other top-class drivers learned the tricks of their trade. Today, after having ended his career as a driver, Schumacher who was born in nearby Hürth, is active as the principal of his own karting and single-seater racing team, now continuing the tradition of promoting young talent with modern means: plenty of topics for an exciting interview...

???: You followed the race of the historic Formula 1 vehicles from the commentator’s booth – can these racing cars be compared with those you personally contested 180 Grand Prix events in?

Ralf Schumacher: “I feel that this would not be appropriate – every era has its specific characteristics. Looking at these historic vehicles, I take my hat off to the drivers that raced in them. The safety standards were obviously a far cry from the ones today – not only in terms of the cars but also in terms of the tracks. It also took courage to battle for every tenth in these single-seaters.”

???: Your career started on the karting track in Kerpen with its long tradition and took you all the way into Formula 1. You have become part of motorsport history yourself. Is that something your conscious of as a driver?

Ralf Schumacher: No. It simply worked out that way. You have to live it – and also want it. And it’s something you definitely can’t plan for. In my case, it just grew into that. Obviously, it’s a shame that the karting track will disappear at the end of 2020 due to opencast mining for soft coal. Unfortunately, there are no realistic alternatives to it at the moment. So in that respect, this part of the tradition will probably come to an end.

???: You’re continuing the tradition in a different way, developing young kart drivers as a team principal to prepare them for a single-seater career. How did this come about?

Ralf Schumacher: “I’ve always dreamt of having my own team and I really enjoy working with young people. The competition in this field is extremely tough as well. In international races the top 10 in qualifying are often within one tenth of each other – that’s a huge challenge and the pressure to perform is high too. As a team principal you have to also focus on the young drivers and their development. The first ones I took care of from an early age are now entering Formula 4. It’s great to see how these young campaigners have developed. By now the team has evolved into a sizable outfit.”

???: These are young drivers just like you used to be yourself years ago. Looking back, do you remember your path and do you see yourself in these young drivers?

Ralf Schumacher: “To be honest: I don’t. Obviously, I have a lot of experience under my belt and know how a young driver may be ticking. But, for my part, I’ve always looked ahead. I had many great moments in motorsport but I always moved on whenever something was over and done with. And in Formula 1, if not before, with the many races, tests and other commitments, time was always in fast-forward mode anyhow. There was no time for looking back.”

???: You are a brand ambassador of the lubricant manufacturer Ravenol. Putting the question in slightly provocative terms: does the type of lubricant make any difference at all?

Ralf Schumacher: “In karting and in Formula 4 we also work together with Ravenol as a team. This is an important aspect for us: the oil in the engine is like blood for humans – long life and performance being crucial. And especially in the high-performance range the differences become clearly noticeable. We battle for every single horsepower, so working with a good and committed partner in the field of lubricants is really important too. But in the field of classic cars this is relevant as well. I personally own a number of old vehicles and had to learn that modern oils are often totally unsuitable for these engines. You fill them into the unit at the top and they’ll run out again at the bottom. That’s why special oils for classic cars are very important.”

???: What is your personal favourite in the historic range?

Ralf Schumacher: “In my garage I have Porsche, Ferrari and Mercedes-Benz cars – and some US models. They always impress me because they had amazing comfort features installed in them as far back as in the 50s. But even though I own a few old cars, I’m no expert in historic motorsport. Obviously, I saw a lot of fantastic cars here in the paddock – my personal favourite so far has been the BMW M1 from the DRM Revival.”

OGP-Special

Order the current 2018 collection for the 46th AvD Oldtimer Grand Prix now and get a FREE AvD collector's card for every article you order.

To The Shop

*Valid until 31.08.2018. Only while stocks last. Cannot be combined with other discounts.

Formel-1-Star Ralf Schumacher kürte die Sieger

In den Rennen der FIA Masters Historic Formula One Championship ging es an diesem Wochenende um den Preis des Hauses Ravenol. Der Schmierstoffhersteller war dabei nicht nur für die Siegerpokale zuständig, sondern auch dafür, dass sie von prominenter Hand überreicht wurden: Ex-Formel-1-Star Ralf Schumacher kürte als Markenbotschafter von Ravenol die Sieger nach dem zweiten Lauf am Sonntag. Im Interview blickt er auf die eigene Karriere zurück, die auch ein Stück Motorsportgeschichte fortführt: Der deutsche Kart-Pionier Wolfgang Graf Berghe von Trips war Initiator jener Kartbahn in Kerpen, auf der Schumacher und viele andere Top-Piloten ihr Handwerk lernten. Heute ist der gebürtige Kerpener nach dem Ende seiner Fahrerkarriere als Teamchef eines eigenen Kart- und Formelteams tätig und führt damit die Tradition der Nachwuchsförderung mit zeitgemäßen Mitteln fort. Viele Themen also für ein spannendes Interview ...

???: Du hast das Rennen der historischen Formel-1-Fahrzeuge aus der Sprecherkabine mit verfolgt – kann man diese Rennwagen mit denen vergleichen, in denen Du selbst 180 Grand Prix bestritten hast?

Ralf Schumacher: „Ich glaube, das wäre nicht legitim – jede Zeit hat ihre Eigenarten. Bei diesen historischen Fahrzeugen sage ich: Hut ab vor den Piloten, die darin gefahren sind. Denn die Sicherheitsstandards waren natürlich bei weitem noch nicht auf dem heutigen Stand – und das nicht nur bei den Autos sondern auch bei den Strecken. Es gehörte auch Mut dazu, in diesen Formelautos um jedes Zehntel zu fighten.“

???: Deine Karriere begann auf der Kartbahn in Kerpen mit ihrer langen Tradition und führte bis in die Formel 1. Du bist selbst ein Teil der Motorsporthistorie geworden. Ist man sich dessen eigentlich als Pilot bewusst?

Ralf Schumacher: „Nein. Es hat sich einfach so ergeben. Man muss es leben – muss es auch wollen. Und planbar ist das schon gar nicht. In meinem Fall wuchs es eben so. Schade ist natürlich, dass die Kartbahn Ende 2020 der Braunkohle weichen wird. Und es gibt derzeit leider keine realistischen Alternativen zu ihr. Insofern wird dieser Teil der Tradition wohl untergehen.“

???: Du führst die Tradition anders fort und ziehst als Teamchef junge Kartpiloten heran und machst sie reif für die Formel-Karriere. Wie kam dieser Schritt?

Ralf Schumacher: „Ich habe immer davon geträumt, mein eigenes Team zu haben. Und mit jungen Leuten zu arbeiten macht mir sehr viel Spaß. Denn der Wettbewerb ist auch in diesem Bereich äußerst hart: In internationalen Rennen sind die Top 10 im Qualifying häufig innerhalb eines Zehntels – das ist eine Riesenherausforderung, und auch der Leistungsdruck ist groß. Als Teamchef muss man da auch auf die jungen Fahrer und ihre Entwicklung ein Auge haben. Die ersten, die ich von klein auf betreut habe, kommen jetzt in die Formel 4. Es ist sehr schön zu sehen, wie sich diese jungen Piloten entwickelt haben. Inzwischen ist das Team schon ein ansehnliches Unternehmen geworden.“

???: Es sind junge Fahrer, wie Du selbst einmal einer warst. Erinnerst Du Dich an deinen Weg zurück und siehst Dich Du in diesen jungen Piloten selbst?

Ralf Schumacher: „Ehrlich gesagt: nein. Natürlich habe ich viel Erfahrung gesammelt und weiß, wie ein junger Fahrer ticken kann. Ich selbst habe aber immer nach vorne geblickt. Im Motorsport habe ich viele schöne Erlebnisse gehabt, aber was abgeschlossen war, das habe ich immer auch hinter mir gelassen. Und spätestens in der Formel 1 mit den vielen Rennen, Tests und anderen Terminen ging die Zeit ohnehin wie im Zeitraffer vorbei. Für Rückblicke war da keine Zeit.“

???: Du bist Markenbotschafter des Schmierstoffherstellers Ravenol. Etwas provokant gefragt: Macht die Art des Schmiermittels denn überhaupt etwas aus?

Ralf Schumacher: „Im Kartsport und der Formel 4 arbeiten wir als Team auch mit Ravenol zusammen, das ist für uns ein wichtiges Thema: Das Öl im Motor ist wie das Blut beim Menschen – entscheidend für die Langlebigkeit und die Leistung. Und speziell im Performancebereich werden die Unterschiede deutlich. Wir kämpfen um jedes PS, und da ist die Zusammenarbeit mit einem guten und engagierten Partner auch beim Thema Schmierstoffe ganz wichtig. Aber auch im Klassikbereich ist das relevant. Ich habe selbst einige alte Fahrzeuge und musste lernen, dass moderne Öle für diese Motoren häufig ganz ungeeignet sind: Die füllt man oben ein und unten laufen sie wieder aus. Deshalb sind spezielle Klassik-Öle ganz wichtig.“

???: Was ist denn Dein persönlicher Favorit im Historik-Bereich?

Ralf Schumacher: „Bei mir in der Garage stehen Porsche, Ferrari und Mercedes-Benz – und US-Modelle. Die beeindrucken mich immer, weil dort schon in den 50er Jahren viele erstaunliche Komfortfeatures eingebaut waren. Aber auch wenn ich ein paar alte Autos habe, bin ich im historischen Motorsport kein Experte. Hier im Fahrerlager habe ich natürlich viele tolle Autos gesehen – mein persönlicher Favorit bislang war der BMW M1 aus dem DRM-Revival.“

AvD-Oldtimer-Grand-Prix Shop

Dieses Jahr in schwarz und rot gehalten  – Die neue Kollektion zum 45. AVD-Oldtimer-Grand-Prix ist ab jetzt verfügbar!

Zum Shop